Welcome to the Dashboard: Let’s start sharing!

Once you log into BaseSpace you will be presented with a Dashboard. From here, you can access all of the BaseSpace features that we provide.

image

Latest runs shows you the most recent runs uploaded to BaseSpace. These may be runs uploaded from your MiSeq or runs shared to you by another BaseSpace user. The latest run panel is designed to give you a quick glance at the state of your runs; quick feedback to know if everything is going well with your runs.

From the dashboard you may also access your most used runs, which are runs prioritized based of the frequency on which you access them. You may also see Shared Data, which, as the name implies, is data that has been either “shared by” you with another user or data that has been “Shared with” you.

Sharing is one of the most exciting features we are providing with BaseSpace. In this release, we give you “share by link”. If you are the owner of some data, and would like to share it with other BaseSpace users, all you need to do is navigate to your data, click the share button, and click “share by link”. You may notice that there is a “share by name” button that is currently disabled, I’ll get into more on that later. When you “share by link” you are creating a unique link to that data which you may pass on to your collaborators. As the owner of this data, you have control of creating and removing this link. Any user that clicks on the link you have generated will be able to see your data; however, as they are not owners of the data, they will not be able to create a unique link for themselves which they may pass on to others. They may pass your link to others, but then cannot generate their own link.

image                                           image                                             image

As the owner of the data, you are able to see just who has clicked on your share link and seen your data. If you navigate to your data, click on sharing, and click share info; you will see a list of all the users that have clicked on your share link.

image                       image

This mechanism is excellent for sharing interesting results with your collaborators. And as an owner of the data, you can see just who has seen your data.

As an owner, you may decide to “unshare” your data. You can do this with any data that is already shared. Navigate to the shared data, click sharing and then click unshare. When you unshare, the link to your shared data becomes invalid. Anybody that you have shared the data with as well as anybody that clicks on that shared link will no longer have access to this data.

Upon exploring our sharing features you may have come across “Share by Name”. This is a more configurable mode of Sharing we plan on adding soon. With Share by Name, you will have complete control over who has access to view your data. Similar to sharing on popular collaboration sites like DropBox and Flickr, you will be able to specify who has access to view your data by email. You will have control to manage the lists of users/emails that have access to your data.

So explore sharing and let us know how we can make this feature work for you. We would like to hear from you, either via this blog or UserVoice, on what your thoughts about sharing are. Do you have any feature requests? What type of sharing is more important for you, Share by Name or Share by Link? How may you use sharing to help you with your work?

We hope that you enjoy using BaseSpace and look forward to hearing from you.

About Pav Gajkowski

Staff Engineer for BaseSpace Team @ Illumina.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: