Taking Out the Trash
If you’ve been using BaseSpace for a while you may have noticed that there wasn’t a way to permanently remove data from your account. I say that in the past tense because it is no longer true. The wait is over! “Move to Trash” is now available on Runs and Analyses.
This has been one of the most important features for us to get right because it has to do with removing your data and we take that very seriously. That is why we are introducing a two-step delete process that will help prevent accidental deletes and give you the confidence you need to safely manage your data.
First, you will notice a new action available on run and analysis list and detail pages, called “Move to Trash”. On the list pages, you must first highlight the row that you want before it’s available.
This action is very similar to moving files on your desktop to the trash or recycle bin. Just like your desktop, the data can be recovered, but it can no longer be viewed or acted upon.
Trashed Items Side-Effects:
- If the items were shared, all share recipients will lose access to that data
- All API access is immediately removed and will return the HTTP status code of 410 (“Gone”)
- Any attempt to view this data on the website will take the user to an 410 error page stating the content is “Gone”
- Data, while in the trash, can only be “Restored” or “Emptied” by the owner.
- Purging data will cause it to be permanently removed and cannot be undone.
Moving Runs to the Trash
- Runs can be put in the trash from the list or the detail pages.
- Runs cannot be removed if they are in a non-terminal state. The most common non-terminal states would be: running, uploading, analyzing.
- The dialog may also present you with the option to remove all associated analyses that used the run as input.
- All sequencing runs will have at least 1 associated analysis unless they were failed or used just for remote monitoring.
- If you are not the owner of the run, moving this item to the trash will simply remove your access and cannot be undone.
- To restore access, just contact the owner or click on the previously sent share link if it’s still active.
Moving Analyses to the Trash
- Analyses can be put in the trash from the list and detail pages.
- Analyses cannot be removed if in a non-terminal state. The most common non-terminal states would be: pending execution and running.
- If a project is being transferred, some of the analyses may not be removed until after the transfer has been completed.
- Apps that are leveraging data as input may fail if items are moved to the trash.
- If you have items in the trash, we prevent project transfers until all items in that project are restored or emptied.
Emptying and Restoring Items in the Trash
The trash page can be accessed from most of the project and run list pages. The icon is always in the right side of the grid and labeled, “View Trash”.
There are only two actions currently on the Trash page: Empty and Restore.
Empty will permanently delete all items, and Restore allows you to return the items back to being active.
Restored items will keep all of their original attributes except for the share recipients.
User Agreement Updates
Because of all of these changes, we have also updated our User agreements to reflect the behavior of these new features. In particular, item 7 states that even though data can be removed it may have been previously shared with other users or apps and subsequently downloaded or copied. You will be prompted to accept these new terms upon your next login. If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to ask!